Hits: 1687088

Awards, Honors and Academies ... (1995- )


  • Nanostructured Materials Award, NanoSmatPrize 2009;
  • Honorary Guest Professorship, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elisabeth, South Africa, 2008-present.
  • Elected Fellow International Society Nanoscience and Nanotechnolgy, 2008;
  • Honorary Guest Professorship Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, 2008-present;
  • Chairman of the division Applied Sciences of the “Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences” (KNAW), 2006-present;
  • Vice-Chairman, Council Physics and Astronomy “Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences” (KNAW, 2005-2008);
  •  Acta Materialia Best Paper Award, 2006;
  •  European Materials Gold Medal, European Materials Societies, 2005;
  •  Eminent Scientist Medal, Wessex Institute of Great Brittain/Un. of Southampton, 2005;
  •  Trophy Award, Materials Research Society, USA, 2004;
  • Elected Fellow of the Wessex Institute of Great Britain, 2004;
  • Acta Materialia Inc Appreciation Award, 2003;
  • Elected Fellow American Society for Metals (FASM), 2002;
  • Elected to “Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences” (Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen, division physics), 2000;
  • Honorary member Student Association Applied Physics, TFV-Francken, 1996- present;
  • Acta Materialia Best Paper Award, 1996;
  • Elected to “The Royal Holland Society of Science and Humanities” (De Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen), 1995